About Us

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly known as the Scottish Rite. It is one of several appendant groups of the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees. In the Southern Jurisdiction these are the Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°), Chapter of Rose Croix (15°–18°), Council of Kadosh (19° – 30°), and the Consistory (31°–32°). The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

Mission Statement

It is the mission of the Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, S.J., to improve its members, and enhance the communities in which they live by teaching and emulating the principles of Brotherly Love, Tolerance, Charity and Truth while actively embracing high social, moral and spiritual values including fellowship, compassion and dedication to God, family and country.

Strategic Objectives:

The bodies of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, sitting in the Valley of Baltimore, Orient of Maryland, acknowledge and yield allegiance to the Supreme Council (Mother Council of the World) of the Inspectors-General, Knights Commander of the House of the Temple of Solomon, of the Thirty-Third and Last Degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, for the Southern Jurisdiction of the United States of America, whose See is at the Grand Orient of Charleston, in the State of South Carolina, now sitting at Washington, D.C.

3800 North Charles Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21218
Phone: 410-243-3200
Fax: 410-243-8791


Marlin L. Mills, 33°
Sovereign Grand Inspector General in Maryland